Barry M Nail Art Pens

Nail art just got so much easier! Up until now, I’ve been using the Models Own WAH nail art pens, which have a thin needle like nib, and a long brush. The main problem I have with these is having to squeeze them as you draw your design, which often results in a few blobs, and wobbly lines. Currently available in black, white, silver and pink, the Barry M nail art pens are just like a felt tip pen, you pump the nib down a few times, and the polish flows down the tip.

I wanted to try them out straight away, so I gave my cuticles a break and used a nail wheel instead (inspiration for a couple of designs from one nail to rule them all.) A couple are a bit lopsided, but other than that, it’s easily the neatest nail art I’ve ever done.

DSCN3141

On my nails, I decided to go with paisley print with the white nail art pen, over Vant To Bite My Neck? finished with a matte top coat (which doesn’t look particularly matte!)

DSCN3149

photo

I had a couple of problems on my actual nails that I didn’t encounter on the wheel. The polish didn’t want to come out of the pen, then when I did eventually get it to go on the nail, it didn’t go on right. The only way I can explain it is when you try to write on shiny paper with a felt tip pen, and its sort of watery. I don’t know if anyone else has had this problem, and it’s strange as I didn’t have any problem on the wheel, using the exact same polish.

They dried really quickly though. I always had a problem smudging my nail art, even if I’d waited half an hour before putting top coat on. With these I only waited a few minutes and had no smudging at all. Overall, I absolutely love these pens, and I hope Barry M release more colours.

Barry M Nail Art Pens are available in Boots and Superdrug for £4.99 each, or on Nail Polish Direct for £4.75

Barry M are also releasing some ‘sequin effects’ nail polish, which look similar to the Nails Inc Sprinkles range. “Add a textured sparkle to your nails with new Sequin Nail Effects!  The rich formula packed densely with sequin specs is the perfect way to create a dramatic 3D effect on your nails.” They officially launch in June!

black

white

pink

Lyndsey 🙂

Leave a comment